The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

the-girl-on-the-train

      “Life is not a paragraph, and death is no parenthesis.”  –  Reference to an E.E. Cummings poem within the author’s work

The Girl on the Train is a thriller set in London 2012-2013, which is basically about an alcoholic named Rachel Watson and her life post-divorce.

I wanted to read this book because of the hype that it caused when it first came out, I wanted to read something that gave me goosebumps and made me never want to put the book down and I thought this was going to be a perfect choice. After reading only a few chapters I knew I was wrong and I wasn’t going to enjoy the read. Bestseller, REALLY???

llllllllll.gif

The first thing I found is that it took so long to get into the story simply because the author decided to write day by day two characters points of views and added more point of views as the story went on. Once you get to know the characters, it all seems quite pathetic, all of the female characters are made out to be weak and unstable, first with Rachel being an alcoholic and not remembering certain times and incidents which always seemed to be at a typically inconvenient time then with the jealous wife Anna and lastly with Megan who isn’t happy being in the steady relationship she’s in which causes her to jump in bed with near enough everybody.

giphy.gif (Gifs from Giphy.com)

There really wasn’t any one character that I liked or enjoyed reading about and I really don’t get the fuss over this book. The story itself wasn’t thrilling in the slightest, the plot was beyond predictable and I couldn’t wait to put this book down.

Overall Rating: 5_star_rating_system_1_star

Sarah xoxo

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. I’ve just started reading The Girl on the Train and up until now all I had heard was hype, hype, hype and more hype. So now I’m super interested to get into it and see for myself!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A – Z by Author

Leave a Reply

