Books to Movies 2017

I’ve recently picked up on a lot of books that will be made into movies in 2017 and I’m rather excited but nervous at the same time as we all know the movies never seem to live up to the book, nevertheless I have picked out a few of the movies that I am looking forward to watching next year.

First of I want to share a movie that’s coming out this year, Never Go Back will be in cinemas October 21st! This mystery, crime, thriller movie is an adaptation on Lee Child’s Jack Reacher novel. Investigator Jack Reacher is played by Tom Cruise and he gets caught up in a lot of action due to the arrest of Susan Turner, an army major accused of treason, who will be played by Cobie Smulders.

I love the Jack Reacher series and think this film will totally be worth the watch, although as always the movies has done things a bit different and if you’ve read the Reacher series you will probably, just like me, be unhappy with the actor. We all love a bit of Tom Cruise but from a readers point of view, he just doesn’t fit the characters look!

Now going straight on to the movies that will be coming out in 2017!!

  1. Looking For Alaska by John Green      

    Miles Halter is tired of his normal plain old life, so he decides to put himself into a boarding school in Alabama for his junior year of high school. He wants to go and seek his Great Perhaps and he thinks there’s something more for him.

    There is.. but what will it be? The story is split in two parts; before & after.

    lookingforalaska

  2.  The Dark Tower by Stephen King

    A gunslinger played by Idris Elba and an evil sorcerer played by Matthew McConaughey embark on a journey to reach a mystical tower that can save their decaying world.

    the-dark-tower-stephen-king

  3.  Fifty Shades Darker by E.L James

    Okay so I’m not really looking forward to this one but I thought I’d put it in here for you guys. I loved the Fifty Shades trilogy, the books where amazing! But after watching five minutes of the first movie I had to turn it off, they already did so many things wrong and the acting was bad! Now they’re bringing out the second, Fifty Shades Darker, I wont be watching it but I hope whoever does go and see it that you enjoy it.

  4. Jumanji (2) by Chris Van Allsburg

    Jumanji is a 1981 fantasy children’s picture book by Chris Van Allsburg it then got made into a well know film in 1995 with some great actors such as Robin Williams and Kirsten Dunst starring in it. Now we’re getting a remake that is due to come out sometime next year starring Dwayne Johnson aka ‘The Rock’.

  5. IT by Stephen King

    I’ve saved the best til last! Again this book was made into a movie adaptation and we are now getting a remake due to be in cinemas next year!! The book  written by the amazing Stephen King was and still is huge. Then Pennywise became the famous clown on everyone’s screens. Now they are all set up to bring us a new and modernized version of this amazing scary story and I can’t wait! The new IT’s Pennywise will be played by Bill Skarsgard and will be starring Fill Wolfhard who we all know well from the new and amazing Netflix Original Series, Stranger Things!! It’s going to be… AMAZING.

Okay guys so there’s a quick roundup of some books that will be made into movies in 2017, will you be going to watch any? I know I will!

Love and happiness..

Sarah xoxo

13 thoughts on “Books to Movies 2017

  1. I never knew Jumanji was originally a book! I’m looking forward to seeing Looking For Alaska, it was such a good book!

    Serena

    Like

    1. Neither did I until I did the research on it and I’m rather happy about it! A lot of people are looking forward to John Green’s book I’ll have to give it a watch when it comes out 🙂

      Like

  2. Such a great idea for a post, although I always get really worried when a book I love gets adapted and usually don’t watch it! Atonement was the nail in the coffin for me 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My other half likes jack teacher so probably that one – definitely not IT 😱 I’m not one for scary! I also loved the 50 shades books and hatedddd the film so I think I’ll be avoiding that one too! Lovely round up thank you x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, I didn’t know Looking for Alaska would become a movie. Definitely excited for this one, even though I didn’t particularly love the book. Thanks for sharing! I’m a huge fan of cinematography and I think this is a really cool idea for a blog post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

