Standalone Sunday

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the wonderful Megan @ bookslayerReads where on Sundays you feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend!

standalone-1

This is my first go at the Standalone Sunday and I find it quite difficult to select one as I love to dive into a series but there is one author who writes so many great books that I will read just about all of his work, standalone or series, so here goes my first book in this tag and it would have to be Carrie by Stephen King.

22dd6c84d8c2ace5dc248eeb2bcc5d6f

My rating: 5/5

Stephen King synopsis: The story of misfit high-school girl, Carrie White, who gradually discovers that she has telekinetic powers. Repressed by a domineering, ultra-religious mother and tormented by her peers at school, her efforts to fit in lead to a dramatic confrontation during the senior prom.

Carrie was Stephen King’s first published novel released in 1974 with a page count of 199. My favourite genre is horror fiction and that’s probably why Stephen King is my favourite author, I didn’t think I would enjoy Carrie with it being a small read and set so long ago! But.. you don’t get the feeling that it was set a long time ago and although it is a small read, Stephen King’s amazing writing gives you enough and all the right details to keep you hooked.

It’s not a really scary book so either anyone who loves horror or a bit of suspense/thriller will enjoy this read and great for anyone looking for a quick and easy read! You’ll love it, I promise.

Have you done your Standalone Sunday?

Sarah xoxo

13 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday

    • Yeah, he’s known to be the ‘King of Horror’ but he’s got a lot of other books, The Dark Tower series are a bit of a mix but mainly fantasy and he’s written a lot of other iconic books that have been made into films that aren’t horror such as Green Mile, Stand By Me but the boos is called The Body and Shawshank Redemption 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Standalone Sunday :: 10/30/16 | :: bookslayerReads ::

  2. Great post! Misery is the only Stephen King book I’ve ever read and I thought it was quite boring. Still the synopsis of Carrie sounds fascinating, so maybe I’ll give this one a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

