The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

img_26661

Title: The Book Thief

Author: Markus Zusak

Narrated by Death

Page count: 554

Genre: Young adult, Fiction, History

Goodreads SynopsisIt’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

My thoughts – 

The Book Thief is one of those books that had such a big hype around it and then it became a movie and everyone just loved it. As I’ve said before, I don’t usually go for these books that everybody gets excited about because I feel that they never reach my expectations, that being said, The Book Thief is one book that I just kept seeing and I couldn’t put a stop to my curiosity so I had to give it a read.

I really didn’t think I’d enjoy it due to the fact it was set around World War 2 and it’s known as a Young Adult read and this put me off quite a bit, but I’d say, don’t judge it as quickly as I did!

The first page looks like this img_26691

Already the author has pulled me in, with a few simple sentences, I’m hooked and I want to know more. All the way through reading this book I was admiring Markus Zusak as a writer.

I love that the book is narrated by Death himself as it gives you a feel that there will be a lot of loss in the story, this might be a depressing thing but I’ve been waiting for a book to give me the feels and The Book Thief sure did that!

I felt a connection with every one of the characters and I smiled, giggled and cried at this book because I felt I was there, in their homes sat beside them, reading. The way The Book Thief is written is one of a kind, quite a normal, easy read but with the intelligence to teach you new things, new words, a new prespective on life and the quotes… Do you know when you read a book and there’s a sentence that sticks with you, a quote that awes you and you just have to look back and read it again to appreciate it more, well throughout the full book I did this numerous of times, there’s so many great quotes that I love such as:

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”

“Like most misery, it started with apparent happiness.”

“The consequence of this is that I’m always finding humans at their best and worst. I see their ugly and their beauty, and I wonder how the same thing can be both.”

These quotes just made me fall in love with Markus Zusak’s writing even more..

I can’t say much without spoilers, so I’ll just say this – The Book Thief is now one of my favourite books and I want to recommend it to EVERYBODY. The author’s writing is A M A Z I N G, it’s such an emotional and heart felt story and I truly feel that anybody would enjoy this book, if I did, I’m sure you will too! I haven’t felt this in love with a book in a long time and I want to re read it over and over again.

Please, give this book a go and let me know what you thought of it! – You won’t be disappointed.

Overall Rating: 5_star_rating_system_5_stars

Sarah xoxo

13 thoughts on “The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Read – 2016

  2. Pingback: Standalone Sunday

  3. Pingback: A – Z by Author

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarizing Books

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

Leave a Reply

