Red Dragon by Thomas Harris

red-dragon

(Image)

Title: Red Dragon

Author: Thomas Harris

Page count: 369

Genre: Crime, Horror fiction, Thriller, Psychological horror

Synopsis: Will Graham stands in a silent, empty house communing with a killer. An FBI instructor with a gift for hunting madmen, Graham knows what his murderer looks like, how he thinks, and what he did to his victims after they died. Now Graham must try to catch him. But to do it, he must feel the heat of a killer’s brain, draw on the macabre advice of a dangerous mental patient, Dr. Hannibal Lecter, and follow a trail of microscopic clues to the place where another family has already been chosen to die–and where an innocent woman has found the Dragon first.

My thoughts –

Oh golly, golly, golly. Red Dragon is a book I’ve been wanting to read for sooooo long and now I’ve read it I’m kind of disappointed in it. I need to stop looking at average ratings because so many people love this book and I thought I would too, why wouldn’t I? It’s horror, it’s crime, it’s thriller, it’s everything I look for in a book. It’s Hannibal Lecter.. but no, actually IT’S NOT! This book is not at all based on Hannibal Lecter, maybe I got my wires crossed but I went into this book thinking it was a story on Lecter, but no no no, it’s not. It’s about another guy who admires Hannibal Lecter and he is the murderer.

Okay so it’s not all bad, the writing from Thomas Harris is good and he doesn’t drag things out, it’s a nice quick read but I just couldn’t enjoy this book because I was reading for Lecter and I got no Lecter.

If you’re okay with there being next to no content on Hannibal then give it a read because it is a good story but in my own opinion it ruined my expectations. I will still read Silence of the Lambs and then Hannibal and Hannibal rising because I’m hoping that they are based around Lecter, they have to be right? Please tell me they are, because I’m really looking forward to them.

There was no real surprises, there was no, who could the murderer be? And to me the murderer seems quite pathetic next to Hannibals standards so all in all I did not enjoy it and won’t be picking it up again.

Have you read the Hannibal series?

Overall Rating: 5_star_rating_system_2_stars

Happy Holidays

Sarah xoxo

4 thoughts on “Red Dragon by Thomas Harris

  1. Ooh, thanks for the review! The Hannibal series is something I have always wanted to read but never got around to doing. I was silly a few years ago and bought Silence of the Lambs (because of the movie!) but I didn’t realize that it was the first book. 🙈 Gah! I hope to read it one day though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A – Z by Author

  3. Pingback: What I’ve Read – 2016

Leave a Reply

