Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Title: Small Great Things

Author: Jodi Picoult

Page count: 470 Pages

Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Adult Fiction

small-great-things-hc-300h

(Image)

Synopsis: Small Great Things is a story about an African American nurse named Ruth, her day to day job entails delivering many new born babies to the world and straight into the arms of their parents. When Ruth goes into work one day to care for a new born baby she has been asked to be re-assigned by the babies parents as she is black, a note is left in the babies medical file for no African Americans to care for him. Not long after this has been stated the little boy goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is the only nurse in the nursery, there is nobody else around to help the baby and she now has to make the decision to weather she should give help or obey the orders she’s been given.

First of all I would just like to say that this is an amazing story and so perfectly written for this day and age. Although racism is now not as acceptable as it used to be it can still be heard from wherever you live and it is still a huge matter in the world. For such a strong subject to be written up I think Jodi Picoult is the perfect writer for such a story and she did exceptional!

From the start of this book I was wowed, at first it was so graphic when there was a scene of a lady giving birth, I felt like I was giving birth myself! But from then on I was hooked because everything Jodi writes about in this book is so truthful and honest and you can really imagine these things happening (unfortunately).

Every baby is born beautiful, it’s what we project on them that makes them ugly. – Jodi Picoult (small great things)

The story reads from different perspectives, such as, Ruth’s point of view then the baby dad’s point of view (Turk) and Ruth’s public defender, Kennedy. Again with Jodi’s writing, she nailed every one of these characters and although I disagreed with a lot, if not all of the things Turk said or thought through out, you do get to see sort of where he’s coming from, you understand his feelings and his hurt, although as I said I don’t agree with anything he said or thought towards African Americans.

It is a sad, overwhelming, heartfelt and realistic book that I think everybody should read at least once. Although I did read this as an audio-book I would call this a ‘page turner’ and I’m only rating this as a 4 out 5 stars because I don’t think I got into it with an audio book as much as I would if I read it myself with the book in my hand so that’s totally nothing to do with the story or Picoult’s writing as I’ve already said is amazing! I will defiantly be picking more of her books up but this has defiantly got to be one of her best for me at the minute. In this books it just shows how far we still have to go and that we should all start making the difference together, it’s a really empowering story, one that’s really worth picking up.

P.S – I think I really need to start writing spoiler reviews as it’s so hard to review books without giving a lot away!

Have you read Small Great Things? – If you have not read anything by Jodi Picoult I would recommend starting here.

Overall Rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Sarah xoxo

 

 

5 thoughts on “Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

  1. Pingback: A – Z by Author
  2. Pingback: January Wrap Up
  3. Pingback: July Book Haul

Leave a Reply

