Down the TBR Hole #2

Down the TBR Hole is a meme created by the very clever and ever so lovely Lia @LostInaStory , here’s Lia’s explanation so you can understand what the meme is all about –

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

This is my second Down the TBR Hole post and I’ve somehow managed to add more to my TBR list since the first so this is going to be a constant fight! So let’s get on with it, here are my next 5 books on my Goodreads TBR list.

THE BOOKS:

The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

179780

Four decades after it first shook the nation, then the world, William Peter Blatty’s thrilling masterwork of faith and demonic possession returns in an even more powerful form. Raw and profane, shocking and blood-chilling, it remains a modern parable of good and evil and perhaps the most terrifying novel ever written. – Goodreads

I’ve watched the film and I think everybody knows what The Exorcist is about, I think it would be fun to read but unless it pops up in a charity shop I don’t think I’ll actually go out of my way to buy it.

The Judgement: GO

It by Stephen King

it

To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry, Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live.

It was the children who saw – and felt – what made Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurked, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread. Sometimes IT reached up, seizing, tearing, killing . . .

The adults, knowing better, knew nothing.

Time passed and the children grew up, moved away. The horror of IT was deep-buried, wrapped in forgetfulness. Until they were called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirred and coiled in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality. – Goodreads

This has been on my TBR list for SO long and the ONLY reason I keep putting it off is because of the page count, it has a total of 1116 pages and I’m not sure I can hack that. I want to soo bad though, I love Stephen King’s writing, I already have the new version of the book and I’m really looking forward to this read so it’s got to be a keeper!

The Judgement: KEEP

Cell by Stephen King

cell

Witness Stephen King’s triumphant, blood-spattered return to the genre that made him famous. Cell, the king of horror’s homage to zombie films (the book is dedicated in part to George A. Romero) is his goriest, most horrific novel in years, not to mention the most intensely paced. Casting aside his love of elaborate character and town histories and penchant for delayed gratification, King yanks readers off their feet within the first few pages; dragging them into the fray and offering no chance catch their breath until the very last page.

In Cell King taps into readers fears of technological warfare and terrorism. Mobile phones deliver the apocalypse to millions of unsuspecting humans by wiping their brains of any humanity, leaving only aggressive and destructive impulses behind. Those without cell phones, like illustrator Clayton Riddell and his small band of “normies,” must fight for survival, and their journey to find Clayton’s estranged wife and young son rockets the book toward resolution. Goodreads

I’m really not sure about this, I do love Stephen Kings books but there are a few that just don’t do it for me and I think Cell will be one of those books. I do already own the novel though so I think I’ll keep it on my bookshelves and get round to it one day but I’m not sure it’s worthy of a place on my TBR list right now as it’s one of the last books on my mind.

The Judgement: GO

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

wtr.jpg

Every April, when the wind blows from the sea and mingles with the scent of lilacs, Landon Carter remembers his last year at Beaufort High. It was 1958, and Landon had already dated a girl or two. He even swore that he had once been in love. Certainly the last person in town he thought he’d fall for was Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of the town’s Baptist minister.

A quiet girl who always carried a Bible with her schoolbooks, Jamie seemed content living in a world apart from the other teens. She took care of her widowed father, rescued hurt animals, and helped out at the local orphanage. No boy had ever asked her out. Landon would never have dreamed of it.

Then a twist of fate made Jamie his partner for the homecoming dance, and Landon Carter’s life would never be the same. Being with Jamie would show him the depths of the human heart and lead him to a decision so stunning it would send him irrevocably on the road to manhood… – Goodreads

I have yet to read a Nicholas Sparks book, can you believe that?? I have however watched many of the movie adaptations from his books, one of those being A Walk to Remember and it’s got to be one of my favourites. I really want to read a novel written by Sparks and I thin A Walk to Remember is the way to go about it.

The Judgement: KEEP

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

dj

An angry rebel, John dropped out of school and enlisted in the Army, not knowing what else to do with his life–until he meets the girl of his dreams, Savannah. Their mutual attraction quickly grows into the kind of love that leaves Savannah waiting for John to finish his tour of duty, and John wanting to settle down with the woman who has captured his heart.

But 9/11 changes everything. John feels it is his duty to re-enlist. And sadly, the long separation finds Savannah falling in love with someone else.

Dear John, the letter read… and with those two words, a heart was broken and two lives were changed forever. Returning home, John must come to grips with the fact that Savannah, now married, is still his true love—and face the hardest decision of his life. – Goodreads

Another Nicholas Sparks, another movie adaptation I have indeed watched and loved, I’m intrigued to see how this one reads and if I like Sparks writing I think I’ll be reading a lot of his books.

The Judgement: KEEP

Are any of these on your TBR list?

SARAH XOXO

4 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #2

Leave a Reply

