January Wrap Up

I’ve decided I’m going to start doing some monthly book wrap ups, to show you what I’ve been reading! I’m not sure if this is a good idea as some months I can barely get through one book but I’m determined to read more this year so we’ll just see how it goes!

Starting in January though, I’ve managed to read 8 books! You can find out what I’m reading and what I’ve read here on Goodreads.

But to make it simple I’ll show you the books I’ve read with the synopsis, a little statement on what I thought and a rating out of 5.

Let’s get on with it!

One by One – Chris Carter (#5 Robert Hunter series)

17164393

Synopsis: ‘I need your help, Detective. Fire or water?’ Detective Robert Hunter of the LAPD’s Homicide Special Section receives an anonymous call asking him to go to a specific web address – a private broadcast. Hunter logs on and a show devised for his eyes only immediately begins. But the caller doesn’t want Detective Hunter to just watch, he wants him to participate, and refusal is simply not an option. Forced to make a sickening choice, Hunter must sit and watch as an unidentified victim is tortured and murdered live over the Internet. The LAPD, together with the FBI, use everything at their disposal to electronically trace the transmission down, but this killer is no amateur, and he has covered his tracks from start to finish. And before Hunter and his partner Garcia are even able to get their investigation going, Hunter receives a new phone call. A new website address. A new victim. But this time the killer has upgraded his game into a live murder reality show, where anyone can cast the deciding vote.

I love all of the Robert Hunter books, they are the best crime novels out there! Every book in the series just gets better and better, this read was a good one to start on for the New Year.

My overall rating5_star_rating_system_5_stars

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon – Stephen King

tgwltg

Synopsis: Nine-year-old Trisha McFarland strays from the path while she and her recently divorced mother and brother take a hike along a branch of the Appalachian Trail. Lost for days, wandering farther and farther astray, Trisha has only her portable radio for comfort. A huge fan of Tom Gordon, a Boston Red Sox relief pitcher, she listens to baseball games and fantasizes that her hero will save her. Nature isn’t her only adversary, though – something dangerous may be tracking Trisha through the dark woods.

I love Stephen King and his writing, but not all of his stories are great. I’m a big fan of The Shining and can’t wait to read more of his horrors but this book didn’t do it for me at all. It was only a short read so I was done with it pretty quickly but I wouldn’t pick it up again, I think it was somewhat pointless but that’s just my opinion! Not a fan of this one.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_2_stars

An Evil Mind – Chris Carter (#6 Robert Hunter series)

19582934

Synopsis: A freak accident in rural Wyoming leads the Sheriff’s Department to arrest a man for a possible double homicide, but further investigations suggest a much more horrifying discovery – a serial killer who has been kidnapping, torturing and mutilating victims all over the United States for at least twenty-five years. The suspect claims he is a pawn in a huge labyrinth of lies and deception – can he be believed?

The case is immediately handed over to the FBI, but this time they’re forced to ask for outside help. Ex-criminal behaviour psychologist and lead Detective with the Ultra Violent Crime Unit of the LAPD, Robert Hunter, is asked to run a series of interviews with the apprehended man. These interviews begin to reveal terrifying secrets that no one could’ve foreseen, including the real identity of a killer so elusive that no one, not even the FBI, had any idea he existed … until now.

Of course I loved this one too, but I REALLY LOVED THIS ONE! An Evil Mind is so different to the rest in the Hunter series and I was frightened that it might not be as good as the rest, how wrong I was! It was better and by far my favourite of the series up to now. It takes a psychological turn with events and people based from Chris Carters real experiences. Truly amazing, it gets your mind working! You can read my full review here!

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_5_stars

Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult

small-great-things

Synopsis: Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene?

Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime. Kennedy McQuarrie, a white public defender, takes her case but gives unexpected advice: Kennedy insists that mentioning race in the courtroom is not a winning strategy. Conflicted by Kennedy’s counsel, Ruth tries to keep life as normal as possible for her family—especially her teenage son—as the case becomes a media sensation. As the trial moves forward, Ruth and Kennedy must gain each other’s trust, and come to see that what they’ve been taught their whole lives about others—and themselves—might be wrong.

With incredible empathy, intelligence, and candor, Jodi Picoult tackles race, privilege, prejudice, justice, and compassion—and doesn’t offer easy answers. Small Great Things is a remarkable achievement from a writer at the top of her game.

This was such a different novel to what I’m used to and is only my second book of Picoult’s I’ve read and I would defiantly recommend it. I love Jodi’s writing style, you can get into the story and get a feel of the characters so quickly, this story in particular  is just so fitting for the times we live in, dealing with hate and racism, if anybody can write a book on such a touching subject it has to be Jodi Picoult! I didn’t REALLY enjoy this but I thoroughly think that’s just because I read it or heard it shall I say, as an audio-book, I think I would enjoy it a whole lot more if I sat down and read it in my own head. You can read my full review here!

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_4_stars

The One Memory of Flora Banks – Emily Barr

tomofb

Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home.

Another book that is totally different to what I usually read, this one deals with the experiences of a girl with short-term memory loss. From the synopsis this sounds actually rather silly, it sounds as if Flora’s memory will just magically get better because of this boy she kissed but that’s not how it is at all. She remembers the kiss and thinks that her memories might get better by being around this boy she thinks she loves. It is an enjoyable read but not one I would read again, I enjoy the characters but I would of liked more adventure than just finding this boy she loves. It just wasn’t enough for me but at the same time a lot of the pages where used up of the same pattern Flora goes through when she forgets, I totally understand that that is what she has to do but I don’t think we needed reminding of that every time, there’s a lot of repetitiveness. You can find my full review here!

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_3_stars

Allegiant – Veronica Roth (#3 Divergent trilogy)

allegiant

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningliess. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, ALLEGIANT, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the DIVERGENT series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in DIVERGENT and INSURGENT.

Oh gosh, for those of you who have not read this book or this series yet but have saw the reviews that go with it, then please, listen to them reviews. I saw all the bad reviews for this book but ignored them because I enjoyed Divergent sooo much so why wouldn’t I like Insurgent and Allegiant right? I loved the characters and they’re the same throughout so I should still love each book, but no, I don’t. Allegiant is diabolical, it really does not seem like a Divergent book, I still rated higher than a 1 star just because I still somewhat like the characters but I really will never read Allegiant again and I’m unsure if I’ll ever read Insurgent again, the last book actually put me off the whole trilogy but I did really love Divergent so I’ll have to read that again and see if I can get my feelings back.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_2_stars

I Am Death – Chris Carter (#7 Robert Hunter series)

25074489

AN EVIL MIND was Chris Carters’s most acclaimed novel to date, described by the Daily mail as: ‘A chilling, compulsive portrait of a psychopath, and proves that Carter is now in the Jeffrey Deaver class.’ It spent three weeks in the Sunday Timestop ten and received brillant reviews and sales.

This terrifying new thriller reunites Hunter and Garcia in their most explosive case to date.

Yes, it is another in the Robert Hunter series, can you believe I’ve read the last 3 just in January and now I’m onto ‘The Caller’ the 8th book in the series, which isn’t published until 23rd February but I managed to grab an ARC from Simon & Schuster UK which I’m super thankful for. I Am Death is by far the most gruesome story yet, I recommend this series to whoever loves a good thriller/horror book with quite a bit of gore. I didn’t rate this a 5 star for a few reasons, for starters it wasn’t as enjoyable for me as the 6th one was, An Evil Mind, there was quite a few spelling mistakes (oh, oh!) and there was a bit where the detectives think the ‘I Am Death’ note that is left is an anagram of the persons name and I personally thought that was a bit silly. It is the only book I’ve found problems with yet I still loved the whole plot, I enjoyed finding out about the murderer and his background and I will never stop loving this series.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Twilight – Stephenie Meyer (#1 Twilight series)

twilight

About three things I was absolutely positive.

First, Edward was a vampire.

Second, there was a part of him—and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be—that thirsted for my blood.

And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

In the first book of the Twilight Saga, internationally bestselling author Stephenie Meyer introduces Bella Swan and Edward Cullen, a pair of star-crossed lovers whose forbidden relationship ripens against the backdrop of small-town suspicion and a mysterious coven of vampires. This is a love story with bite.

There’s a lot of people who love these books and there’s a lot that hate them. For me I love them, Twilight is a re-read, I don’t do many re-reads but I haven’t read Twilight in SO long that I felt it was time to pick it up again and I’m glad I did and I’m looking to re-read the rest of the books in the series sometime this year too, these books are just great for me when I don’t want to read anything in particular or get in to a new adventure, they hold a little place in my heart that I like to revisit every now and then.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

How many books have you read in January?

Sarah xoxo

 

 

8 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

