The House by Simon Lelic

the-house

(Image)

Title: The House

Author: Simon Lelic

Publisher: Penguin UK

Page count: 340

Genre: Thriller, Psychological, Mystery, Suspense 

What if your perfect home turned out to be the scene of the perfect crime?

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered. Right outside their back door.

And now the police are watching them… – Goodreads

I don’t think I’d agree with the synopsis of this book as Syd and Jack, well, mainly Jack didn’t really think it was their dream home off the back and there’s just little things in the synopsis that aren’t entirely true but it is still pretty much what happens.

I didn’t actually read the synopsis before reading this book, I wanted to read it based on its cover (don’t judge a book by it’s cover) but I did and I’m glad I did because I really enjoyed reading this Thriller, I went in thinking it was about a haunted house of some sort but it’s not at all. It contains nothing supernatural although you do get the feel of that at first, as the story goes on your learn more and more about the characters past.

The House has elements of child abuse with some drug and alcohol abuse in it too, the way this is written about is touching, I think Simon Lelic, the author, really understood how children can be affected by abuse from a young age and how they think while going through such a traumatic time, it is a little difficult to read but I don’t think it goes into too much detail that I felt uncomfortable but of course everybody has different standards. I’m glad this story was told so well and I really think that is why I have such a love for Syd, many people may not like her because of her destructive personality, I guess, but once you read about her past you get to understand her and I wanted nothing but good things for her.

This story is an exciting psychological thriller that I really enjoyed, with surprises all the way through. I really loved the characters. I love love love the way this book is written, it’s from the main characters points of views (Jack & Syd) and it’s written from their memories of how things happened, they start writing things down basically because there were things happening they didn’t think they could explain otherwise.

Some of the things in the story are a bit far fetched, but because the unrealistic features didn’t happen a lot I didn’t seem to mind, plus, it’s a story right? So anything is possible.

I’ve been waiting for a good psychological thriller and I’m thoroughly pleased with this one.

Thank you, NetGalley and Penguin Books (UK) for an ARC copy in exchange for my honest review.

Overall Rating:5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Sarah xoxo

5 thoughts on “The House by Simon Lelic

  1. Pingback: A – Z by Author
  2. Pingback: February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

