February Wrap Up

It’s March already! So I guess it’s time to share with you, my February Wrap-Up, in February I read a total of 7 books, which is only 1 less than January and I’ve been super busy lately so I think I’ve done pretty good. You can find out what I’m currently reading and what I’ve finished reading here on Goodreads.

But for now I’ll keep it simple I’ll show you the books I’ve read with the synopsis, a little statement on what I thought and a rating out of 5.

Without Fail – Lee Child (#6 Jack Reacher series)

1

Synopsis: Skilled, cautious, and anonymous, Jack Reacher is perfect for the job: to assassinate the vice president of the United States. Theoretically, of course. A female Secret Service agent wants Reacher to find the holes in her system, and fast – because a covert group already has the vice president in their sights. They’ve planned well. There’s just one thing they didn’t plan on: Reacher.

Without Fail was one of the better ones in the Reacher series, in my opinion, I thoroughly enjoyed the story. I do understand how the story is a bit far-fetched and why most people don’t like it but I don’t mind an unrealistic story, because that’s what it is, a story! As long as it’s exciting and lives up to its name then I’m happy, which I am with this book.

My overall Rating:5_star_rating_system_4_stars

The Caller – Chris Carter (#8 Robert Hunter series)

2

Synopsis:
After a tough week, Tanya Kaitlin is looking forward to a relaxing night in, but as she steps out of her shower, she hears her phone ring.  The video call request comes from her best friend, Karen Ward.  Tanya takes the call and the nightmare begins.

Karen is gagged and bound to a chair in her own living room.  If Tanya disconnects from the call, if she looks away from the camera, he will come after her next, the deep, raspy, demonic voice at the other end of the line promises her.

As Hunter and Garcia investigate the threats, they are thrown into a rollercoaster of evil, chasing a predator who scouts the streets and social media networks for victims, taunting them with secret messages and feeding on their fear.

As I’ve said in previous posts, I love the Robert Hunter series by Chris Carter. This is probably my favourite series at the minute, I love the fact that the author has a similar background as Detective Robert Hunter so the story always seems very realistic and they really scare you as they make you think that it could really happen. Chris keeps his stories up to date and keeps them based around things that are happening in the real world, every day, that we probably won’t see much of. That being said, The Caller wasn’t my favourite. It was still a good story, the details were still on point, I love the short chapters but the storyline just wasn’t on point for me, I like the more in depth crazy stories like the ones Chris has written previously. You can find my full review here.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_3_stars

The House – Simon Lelic

3

Synopsis: What if your perfect home turned out to be the scene of the perfect crime?

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered. Right outside their back door.

And now the police are watching them…

This read was quite a surprise for me, I enjoyed it more than I thought I would going into it. The House deals with child abuse, drug and alcohol abuse. I have never read a book based around such touching subjects but Simon Lelic wrote this really well and I’ve opened myself up to reading more books like it. You can read my full review here.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

The Roanoke Girls – Amy Engel

4

Synopsis: Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.

After her mother’s suicide, fifteen year-old Lane Roanoke came to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, on their vast estate in rural Kansas. Lane knew little of her mother’s mysterious family, but she quickly embraced life as one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls. But when she discovered the dark truth at the heart of the family, she ran fast and far away.

Eleven years later, Lane is adrift in Los Angeles when her grandfather calls to tell her Allegra has gone missing. Did she run too? Or something worse? Unable to resist his pleas, Lane returns to help search, and to ease her guilt at having left Allegra behind. Her homecoming may mean a second chance with the boyfriend whose heart she broke that long ago summer. But it also means facing the devastating secret that made her flee, one she may not be strong enough to run from again.

As it weaves between Lane s first Roanoke summer and her return, The Roanoke Girls shocks and tantalizes, twisting its way through revelation after mesmerizing revelation, exploring the secrets families keep and the fierce and terrible love that both binds them together and rips them apart.

All I’m going to say is that this is a book I never want to read again. The plot of the story was disturbing, I don’t want to read a story like it again and the characters are all unlikeable. The reason it gets a couple of stars from me is because I actually enjoyed Amy Engel’s writing and I never got bored because of it, I’d like to read more from her if she steered away from these kinds of stories. You can find my full review here.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_2_stars

Hold Back The Stars – Katie Khan

5

Synopsis: Carys and Max have ninety minutes of air left.
None of this was supposed to happen.
But perhaps this doesn’t need to be the end…

Adrift in space with nothing to hold on to but each other, Carys and Max can’t help but look back at the well-ordered world they have left behind – at the rules they couldn’t reconcile themselves to, and a life to which they might now never return.
For in a world where love is banned, what happens when you find it?

Aw, aw, awwwwwwwww, I loved reading Hold Back The Stars! I won this gorgeous book in a giveaway that was held by LiaI adored the characters and their relationships and I loved the full plot of the story not once did I find myself getting bored and the ending.. or should I say endings! Aw, it was all so lovely, my heart is really with this book and I’m so glad I got the chance to read it. Full review coming soon!

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Persuader – Lee Child (#7 Jack Reacher series)

6

Synopsis: Jack Reacher.
The ultimate loner.
An elite ex-military cop who left the service years ago, he’s moved from place to place…without family…without possessions…without commitments.
And without fear. Which is good, because trouble–big, violent, complicated trouble–finds Reacher wherever he goes. And when trouble finds him, Reacher does not quit, not once…not ever.
But some unfinished business has now found Reacher. And Reacher is a man who hates unfinished business.
Ten years ago, a key investigation went sour and someone got away with murder. Now a chance encounter brings it all back. Now Reacher sees his one last shot. Some would call it vengeance. Some would call it redemption. Reacher would call it…justice. “From the Hardcover edition.”

Persuader was good, not great. I’ve always enjoyed Lee Child’s writing and his Reacher books but all of his books have really long chapters, like 30 pages long. I think for a book that is that long, needs to be exciting so not all of his books cut it for me. This one especially had really long descriptions, there was a bit about when Reacher jumped into the ocean and it was describing how he got out and that in itself was 4 pages long, I just skimmed through most of it, I defiantly think the book could have been cut down a lot!

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_2_stars

Can’t Buy Forever – Susan Laffoon

7

Synopsis: In the early 1950s, Odessa Drake (Dessa) is rescued from a bleak existence with a single mother. She takes a chance on the unknown to work in a boarding house owned by a widowed great aunt in Mineville, New York. Dessa is devoted to Aunt Flo and especially a young man, Nicholas, who appears and takes shelter in the attic, the only available space. Four years pass. She looks forward to each day because of his presence, in spite of the tedious work. Dessa is now eighteen and knows little more of Nicholas than the day he arrived to work the mines. She knows only he is a remarkable man who has a limp and she trusts Nicholas explicitly. There is a familiarity both recognize and an unshakeable bond develops. Nicholas has reasons to keep his past buried. Dangers loom and become evident when Nicholas gets too close and exposes their bond. What is the mystery behind this threat? To discover the answer, they escape by railway heading West, colliding with treachery and uncovering secrets, mile by mile. Their journey is impossible, but, they are supported by friends who risk their lives to make sure a great love and lineage is preserved. Or is it? None will forget their odyssey as they proceed to their destiny farther than they imagined.

So one day I got a little email from a lady called Susan Laffoon, she had come across my blog and wanted to know if I would like to read a copy of her book Can’t Buy Forever as she has a sequel to the book coming out later this year. Of course, I snapped up the chance to read this book and I now have a beautiful signed copy of one of my new favourite books. I’ve read so many books that are out of my comfort zone this year already, this book being one of them, I’m so happy I’ve read this and I can’t wait for more books from Susan Laffoon. Full review coming soon!

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

See you next month…

Sarah xoxo

2 thoughts on “February Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

