He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

 

he said she said

Title: He Said/She Said

Author: Erin Kelly

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Publication Date: April 20th, 2017

Page count: 416

Genre: Thriller, Adult Fiction, Mystery

In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.

She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim’s life that is changed forever.

Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.

And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something – and someone – is always in the dark…Goodreads

This is my first Erin Kelly book and she has proved to be a fantastic writer, her writing style is easy and interesting to read. He Said/She Said is full of twist and turns, with some unexpected plot twists, nothing is what it seems.

He Said/She Said is the first book that I have read that has been set somewhat close to my hometown, being set between Cornwall and Newcastle in Britain. Being able to actually visualise the story helped me get into it that bit more and I think Erin did a great job at setting the scenes. 

The story begins in 1999 where Laura and boyfriend Kit are going to watch the total eclipse of the sun in Cornwall, this was Laura’s first experience but for Kit and his twin brother Mac it has been a hobby since they were kids, when their father would take them traveling all around the world to experience these rare occasions together. Mac and his girlfriend Ling, as well as Kit, decided to set up shop selling hot drinks to make some money back to cover the costs of the travelling, when Laura travels down to meet them sometime later she stumbles across a young woman that she believes is being raped. 

He Said/She Said continuously flips back and forth from 1999 when the incident first happened to 15 years later where we learn what impact the events of that night has had on the four main characters. The story includes elements of rape, anxiety, panic attacks and drug abuse which the characters are all still reeling from so long after that night in 1999.

Throughout this novel I had strong feelings for a lot of the characters, I love Laura and Kit and their relationship, I ended up having quite a big hatred for Beth as she got rather clingy and invasive. I thought Kit was the perfect, boyfriend, brother and friend and I thoroughly enjoyed reading from their different perspectives. Once I finished the book I found that there was only really one person I felt the same towards at the end of the book as I did from the start of the book and that would be Jamie, the accused rapist. My opinions entirely changed about Kit and Beth by the end of the novel I felt the opposite towards them, I ended up really liking Beth but having a lot of anger towards Kit. I’ve never had my emotions flipped so drastically but in the same way, it all made sense, everything added up and I couldn’t believe I couldn’t see through them. Again another well-done job from Erin Kelly!

I’m quite a sensitive reader so when it comes to rape stories etc I can be put off but after getting past the first ordeal of it I found it wasn’t a massive factor that would steer me away from reading. The author had me hooked and it was one of the first books along these lines that I can say I’ve really enjoyed. Although, it did take me quite a while to read but I’m not entirely sure why as there was no unnecessary detail and I didn’t get bored as such, I think I just got myself into a slump but I would like to read this again sometime in the future.

Thank you, Netgalley & Hodder & Stoughton for an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review.

Overall Rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

 

3 thoughts on “He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

  1. Pingback: A – Z by Author
  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

