March Wrap Up

Hi everyone! It’s that time again where I get to share with you what I have been reading for the last month, I defiantly stepped out of my comfort zone with these reads and I’m excited to share them with you. In the month of March I managed to read 6 books, you can stay updated on what I’m currently reading and what I’ve finished reading here on Goodreads.

Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) – Elly Blake

frostblood

Synopsis: The frost king will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love.

I’ve recently started reading more fantasy and I’m please I gave this novel a go, it is the first in the Frostblood saga and I’m excited to read more. Frostblood came out just this year in January and I was very lucky to have been given a chance to read a copy before it came out thanks to Netgalley. You can see my full review on Frostblood here.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Penance – Kanae Minato

Penance

Synopsis: The tense, chilling story of four women haunted by a childhood trauma.
When they were children, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into separating from their friend Emili by a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurs: Emili is found murdered hours later.
Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko weren’t able to accurately describe the stranger’s appearance to the police after the Emili’s body was discovered. Asako, Emili’s mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will pay for her daughter’s murder.
Like Confessions, Kanae Minato’s award-winning, internationally bestselling debut novel, PENANCE is a dark and voice-driven tale of revenge and psychological trauma that will leave listeners breathless.

Penance is like nothing I’ve read before, it’s quite unique. I really enjoyed Kanae Minato’s writing and would like to read more from her and more from Japanese authors like her. I’m glad I gave this one a go but I don’t think I would be reading it again, it was a good one off. You can find my full review on Penance here.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_3_stars

He Said/She Said – Erin Kelly

he said she said

Synopsis: Who do you believe?

In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.

She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim’s life that is changed forever.

Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.

And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something – and someone – is always in the dark…

He Said/She Said was quite exciting actually, when I first started it, it did take a while to get in to but once things started adding up I found myself enjoying it. Another unique story, a great standalone for people who are looking for a thriller with twist and turns. You can find my full review on He Said/She Said here.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_4_stars

The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries, #1) – L. J. Smith

395922

Synopsis: A Love Triangle of Unspeakable Horror…

Elena
Searching for the ultimate thrill, she vowed to have Stefan.

Stefan
Haunted by his tragic past, he struggled to resist her passion.

Damon
Driven by revenge, he hunted the brother who betrayed him.

The terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.

So I’m sure you have all heard of or watched the TV series The Vampire Diaries right? The one with the two gorgeous vampire brothers who are swooning over this ordinary school girl. Well before Ian Somerhalder and Paul Wesley were cast to play Damon and Stefan Salvatore there was a book series based on them, yup The Vampire Diaries books! I was super excited when I saw the box set in a charity shop in my local town and couldn’t wait to start reading them, so here we are, I have started with the first book in the series ‘The Awakening’. They are all very short books and I just loved this one and can’t wait to read the next few. It’s cringy teenage literature and that’s exactly what I look for in a book, I mean I loved Twilight, what else is there to it? Full review to come soon!

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

19288043

Synopsis: On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

Ah Gone Girl, I think everybody in the book world has read this book but it has taken me until now to finally pick it up. Now as you all may know there was a huge amount of hype around this book and it has since been made into a film starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. I hate reading books that are loved because I have such high expectations for them and they don’t usually live up to my expectations but my trusty sister-in-law recommended this one to me so I had to give it a go and I’ve got to say I did really enjoy this novel, it was exciting and thrilling, Gillian Flynn is an amazing writer, I love her style and there was nothing she left un-turned, that being said it wasn’t as good as I would have hoped.. the ending of the book was something I was counting on, I was expecting it to end on a BANG! But it didn’t, the ending really disappointed me and I just think there was more that could of been added to make it a perfect novel. Full review to come soon.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_4_stars

The One – John Marrs

The One by John Marrs

Synopsis: How far would you go to find THE ONE?
One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for.
A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one other person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people meet their Match. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…
A psychological thriller with a difference, this is a truly unique novel which is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

(Note: Previously published as A Thousand Small Explosions)

This book is a modern representation of online dating with a twist, this new website uses DNA to find your perfect match and it’s been known to go down really well. The One goes between 5 different characters online experiences and their relationships. Throughout this story I was only ever really interested in one character, Christopher, the rest all had secrets or came upon problems but I was never intrigued in them enough to enjoy the story, even Christopher’s story at the end fell flat. I was looking forward to this novel as I thought it would be a frightening outlook on online dating and social media but actually, it was just a bunch of stories about people’s love lives gone wrong, not something I am interested in personally.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_1_star

Thank you for reading, see you again next month for my April Wrap Up!

Sarah xoxo

7 thoughts on “March Wrap Up

  1. Great wrap-up! It sounds like you had a good March! 6 books is awesome too. 😀
    I’m happy to see you enjoyed Frostblood! I read it sometime ago and I thought it was such a fun, entertaining read. I have no idea where the story will go on Fireblood, but I’m looking forward to it.
    Penance sounds like such an interesting story! Out of curiosity, what didn’t you like about the book? I’m thinking of reading it but would like to hear what made it a 3/5 star for you as opposed to a 4/5!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yeah me too 😀 I think because the story was based fully on the aftermath of the incident it didn’t have much to go to, if there was more crimes included in the story I think I’d of enjoyed it more as it might of been a bit more exciting, it was just a bit of a random one for me but I’m sure others will love it, all depends on what you like 🙂 Thank you for reading xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

