Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

GG

Title: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

Publication Date: May 24th 2012

Page Count: 463 pages

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Crime, Fiction

Synopsis: On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

Review

Characters

Gosh, I went through some emotions with this book, I loved Nick, I hated Nick, I wanted Nick to die then I was rooting for Nick again. I loved Amy then, not so much. Other than the main characters there were some other background characters that did a lot for the story, I loved Nick’s sister Go and a few other odd characters that stemmed from Amy’s past mainly, there was a lot of characters I didn’t like but needed to be there to give you more of an idea of our main characters, Amy and Nick.

World/Setting

Gone girl is set in New York City where Amy and Nick live but they later move to a little home in North Carthage, Missouri due to Nick’s mother being unwell.

Final thoughts

As always I’m late to the hype, I know there is now a film adaptation out starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. I was actually put off reading this because of the hype around the novel, I usually find that I don’t enjoy them as much as others, like Girl on the Train for example which you can find my full review for here

I did decide to read it due to my sister-in-law recommending it to me and we have very similar tastes in books so I had to give it a go.

I found I actually really enjoyed Gone Girl and Gillian’s writing, I noticed that Gillian Flynn didn’t leave anything unanswered, she covered every bit of the story with no mistakes. It was a thrilling read that I will be picking up again. The only bad point I will say is that the ending landed flat, I think there could have been more added to it that would have made this novel just perfect.

Overall Rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

Goodreads: Click Here

The Book Depository: Click Here

About the author: 

GF

Gillian Flynn is an American author and television critic for Entertainment Weekly. She has so far written three novels, Sharp Objects, for which she won the 2007 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for the best thriller; Dark Places; and her best-selling third novel Gone Girl.

Her book has received wide praise, including from authors such as Stephen King. The dark plot revolves around a serial killer in a Missouri town, and the reporter who has returned from Chicago to cover the event. Themes include dysfunctional families, violence and self-harm.

In 2007 the novel was shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America Edgar for Best First Novel by an American Writer, Crime Writers’ Association Duncan Lawrie, CWA New Blood and Ian Fleming Steel Daggers, winning in the last two categories.

Flynn, who lives in Chicago, grew up in Kansas City, Missouri. She graduated at the University of Kansas, and qualified for a Master’s degree from Northwestern University.

Review Quotes:
“Gillian Flynn is the real deal, a sharp, acerbic, and compelling storyteller with a knack for the macabre.”
–Stephen King                                     – Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

      1. She has written (only) 3 books and I love them all so I recommend the other two! They are all very dark but I like these kind of books. It’s a good movie although I prefer to novel (like always) better. He’s ok in the movie though, the lead role is for Amy of course.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: A – Z by Author

Leave a Reply

