April Wrap Up

Happy May 1st everybody! I’m hoping now that it’s May that it might actually start getting warm here in England. Anyways it’s that time again where I get to share with you what I’ve been reading for the last month. In the month of April, I managed to read 6 books. You can stay updated on what I’ve finished reading and what I’m currently reading here on Goodreads.

City of Bones – Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments series, #1)

cob

Synopsis: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Hey, look at me! I’ve gone up in the world and I’ve finally started The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. You all know how behind on the trends I am, I mean this first book is 10 YEARS OLD! Yeah, so.. I saw the box set of these books for under half price in a bookstore in Durham, England and had to pick them up and give them a go. I completed City of Bones and I enjoyed it, it still hasn’t given me major feels yet but I am on to the second in the series, City of Ashes and I’m liking it already.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

One of Us Is Lying – Karen M. McManus

oouil

Synopsis: One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

I got an ARC of One of Us Is Lying from NetGalley and I actually really enjoyed it, I’m surprised by this because I’ve had quite a few mystery’s from NetGalley lately and they haven’t lived up to my expectations. This novel is a mix between Gossip Girl and The Breakfast Club with an added murder mystery, it was a quick fun read and I really enjoyed all the characters and Karen’s writing style. You can find my full review for One of Us Is Lying here!

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_4_stars

It – Stephen King

it.jpg

Synopsis: To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry, Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live.

It was the children who saw – and felt – what made Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurked, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread. Sometimes IT reached up, seizing, tearing, killing . . .

The adults, knowing better, knew nothing.

Time passed and the children grew up, moved away. The horror of IT was deep-buried, wrapped in forgetfulness. Until they were called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirred and coiled in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.

This book is over 1,000 pages long and I decided to do a buddy read with my sister-in-law so we could get through it together, we wanted to read IT because of the new movie adaptation coming out in September but unfortunately it let us both down, me and my sister-in-law have the same mind when it comes to most things and we thought the same throughout the book. We both really enjoyed the first bit but as it got so far through it really slowed down and then we were just bored. It ended quite badly and I didn’t find it exciting or scary or anything in fact so I’m really disappointed with this read.

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_2_stars

The Struggle – L. J. Smith (The Vampire Diaries, #2)

ts

Synopsis:This is the terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them: Damon: determined to make Elena his queen of darkness, he’d kill his own brother to possess her.Stefan: desperate for the power to destroy Damon, he succumbs to his thirst for human blood.Elena: irresistibly drawn to both brothers, her choice will decide their fate.

I’ve watched the TV series and it’s one of my favourite series of all time alongside The Walking Dead and I was so excited to read the books, all I could think was how did they fit so much into these little books because they’re all only a couple of hundred pages long and A LOT happens in the show but actually they don’t fit a lot into the books. Nothing much happened in the first and little more happened in the second, the TV series is defiantly better but I do like the books just for something to do, a quick fun read.

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_3_stars

You Don’t Know Me – Imran Mahmood

YDKM

Synopsis: An unnamed defendant stands accused of murder. Just before the Closing Speeches, the young man sacks his lawyer, and decides to give his own defense speech.

He tells us that his barrister told him to leave some things out. Sometimes, the truth can be too difficult to explain, or believe. But he thinks that if he’s going to go down for life, he might as well go down telling the truth.

There are eight pieces of evidence against him. As he talks us through them one by one, his life is in our hands. We, the reader – member of the jury – must keep an open mind till we hear the end of his story. His defense raises many questions… but at the end of the speeches, only one matters:

Did he do it?

So bad. So boring, I didn’t enjoy this book one bit. I liked how it started and I thought it might have had potential but no, not for me at all. Find my full review for You Don’t Know Me here!

My overall rating:5_star_rating_system_1_star

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey 

ofotcn

Synopsis: Tyrannical Nurse Ratched rules her ward in an Oregon State mental hospital with a strict and unbending routine, unopposed by her patients, who remain cowed by mind-numbing medication and the threat of electric shock therapy. But her regime is disrupted by the arrival of McMurphy – the swaggering, fun-loving trickster with a devilish grin who resolves to oppose her rules on behalf of his fellow inmates. His struggle is seen through the eyes of Chief Bromden, a seemingly mute half-Indian patient who understands McMurphy’s heroic attempt to do battle with the powers that keep them imprisoned. Ken Kesey’s extraordinary first novel is an exuberant, ribald and devastatingly honest portrayal of the boundaries between sanity and madness.

I’ve actually watched the movie adaptation before I read the book which I don’t usually do, the film stars my favourite actor Jack Nicholson and others such as Danny DeVito and Christopher Lloyd. I loved the film, the actors did an amazing job and it’s now one of my all time favourites. The book itself though was rather slow-paced, the film wasn’t really different to the book, I just think it is a slow paced story but with a film, you can sit down and get it done in an hour a two, with a book it takes longer especially if you’re not enjoying it. I did enjoy it but it just took a while for anything to happen. The ending made it all worthwhile and it was all around a fun read. 

My overall rating: 5_star_rating_system_3_stars

I hope you all have a great month and thank you for reading!

Sarah xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

