Down the TBR Hole #5

Down the TBR Hole is a meme created by the very clever and ever so lovely Lia @LostInaStory, here’s Lia’s explanation so you can understand what the meme is all about –

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

THE BOOKS:

Follow Me by Angela Clarke (Social Media Murders #1)

follow-me-by-angela-clarke

Synopsis: ‘We’ve been waiting for a novel that shows just how creepy and scary social media actually is and this is it. Angela Clarke knows exactly which buttons to press. #creepedmeout’ -Tania Carver

LIKE. SHARE. FOLLOW . . . DIE

The ‘Hashtag Murderer’ posts chilling cryptic clues online, pointing to their next target. Taunting the police. Enthralling the press. Capturing the public’s imagination.

But this is no virtual threat.

As the number of his followers rises, so does the body count.

Eight years ago two young girls did something unforgivable. Now ambitious police officer Nasreen and investigative journalist Freddie are thrown together again in a desperate struggle to catch this cunning, fame-crazed killer. But can they stay one step ahead of him? And can they escape their own past?

Time’s running out. Everyone is following the #Murderer. But what if he is following you?

ONLINE, NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREAM. . .

I really wanted to read this quite a while ago now, then my sister-in-law gave it ago and said it was good but not great and it’s quite a slow paced book, I’ve looked at the reviews again and there’s a lot of 3-star ratings. I do have a copy of the book so I’m going to give it a go but if it wasn’t for that reason and that reason only I’d probably forget about it.

The Judgement: KEEP

We Have Always Live in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

89724

Synopsis: Merricat Blackwood lives on the family estate with her sister Constance and her Uncle Julian. Not long ago there were seven Blackwoods—until a fatal dose of arsenic found its way into the sugar bowl one terrible night. Acquitted of the murders, Constance has returned home, where Merricat protects her from the curiosity and hostility of the villagers. Their days pass in happy isolation until cousin Charles appears. Only Merricat can see the danger, and she must act swiftly to keep Constance from his grasp.

I’ve heard mixed opinions on this book, I want to give it a read because it’s supposed to be creepy but others have said it doesn’t compare to writers such as Stephen King and Stephen King is how I like my level of creepiness so if it’s not going to be creepy enough I just don’t know if I’ll enjoy it! I think I’d give this a go if I found it in a charity shop or if I got it given to me but I’m not going to go out of my way to buy and read it.

My Judgement: GO

Insomnia by Stephen King

10585

Synopsis: Ralph Roberts used to be an ordinary guy—until insomnia robbed him of sleep. Now he’s no longer ordinary—he can see horrible things happening to the people of Derry, Maine. He can see how, one by one, they are turning into monsters straight from hell.

He’d like to call them nightmares, but he’s wide awake. He can’t call himself crazy, because there is another person who sees these happenings, too. But even if seeing is believing, it still doesn’t give him a clue of how to stop these deadly, demonic visions from coming true.

Speaking of Stephen King, here is a novel I have yet to get around to like most of King’s books but I do have a lot of them on my bookshelves, including Insomnia, this a read I’m quite interested in but as I’ve said before Stephen King is hit or miss with me so we’ll just have to wait and see!

My Judgement: KEEP

The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris (Hannibal Lecter #2)

23807

Synopsis: There’s a killer on the loose who knows that beauty is only skin deep, and a trainee investigator who’s trying to save her own hide. The only man that can help is locked in an asylum. But he’s willing to put a brave face on – if it will help him escape.

Oh, how I feel about these books… The Hannibal series is something I want to love, it really, really is, but I tried the first in the series Red Dragon and hated it. There just wasn’t a lot on Hannibal himself and that why I’ve come to read them, for Hannibal! I don’t have a lot of hope for the second book in the series but I have heard The Silence of the Lambs is the best out of them all so I will give it a go as I do already have a copy but if I don’t like this one I’ll have to quit on the series unfortunately. 

The Judgement: KEEP

A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay

23019294

Synopsis: The lives of the Barretts, a normal suburban New England family, are torn apart when fourteen-year-old Marjorie begins to display signs of acute schizophrenia.

To her parents’ despair, the doctors are unable to stop Marjorie’s descent into madness. As their stable home devolves into a house of horrors, they reluctantly turn to a local Catholic priest for help. Father Wanderly suggests an exorcism; he believes the vulnerable teenager is the victim of demonic possession. He also contacts a production company that is eager to document the Barretts’ plight. With John, Marjorie’s father, out of work for more than a year and the medical bills looming, the family agrees to be filmed, and soon find themselves the unwitting stars of The Possession, a hit reality television show. When events in the Barrett household explode in tragedy, the show and the shocking incidents it captures become the stuff of urban legend.

Fifteen years later, a bestselling writer interviews Marjorie’s younger sister, Merry. As she recalls those long ago events that took place when she was just eight years old, long-buried secrets and painful memories that clash with what was broadcast on television begin to surface–and a mind-bending tale of psychological horror is unleashed, raising vexing questions about memory and reality, science and religion, and the very nature of evil.

I love a bit of psychologically and my favourite genre of books are horror and thrillers so at first, this sounded right up my street but as I’ve just re-read it, it reminded me of the book and movie adaptation, The Exorcist and I just stopped being interested in it. Also because they talk about the incidents 15 years into the future I just don’t think it will be as exciting.

My Judgement: GO

So two out of five ain’t bad, I’ve got rid of some more books I probably won’t ever read from my TBR file but I do think there could have been more, if I was more stubborn with myself I’d probably get rid of Follow Me and The Silence of the Lambs too but I’m too interested in to see what the fuss is about with these ones.. so one day, I will read them.

Sarah xoxo

Leave a Reply

