Book Haul

Hi guys! Firstly I would like to apologise for not blogging much, recently with work and trying to fit family, friends and other hobbies into my life I just haven’t had much time to blog or even start to think about what to write. I am enjoying just blogging when I feel like it so I hope you guys don’t mind that too much. 

I have decided to post something I don’t usually do which is a book haul! I never feel that I buy enough books in a month to post about them but recently I noticed that I had quite a new book collection stacking up and after counting up how many I’ve bought recently I found that I have hauled 33 books since 25th April! So I know people usually do book hauls of the month, from the first to the very last day of that month but I’m going to be doing it from the 25th April to the 25th May.

Most of these books are from charity shops, I never understand people who spend hundreds of pounds on a few books because they bought them at full price when they can find some great ones in local charity shops. Little fun fact, I spent just over £30 this month on books which I worked out at full price would have cost me over £250 so yeah, just think about that when you go into your pricey book shops! Don’t get me wrong, I do love a brand new book but I only ever buy books at full price if it’s something I know I’ll enjoy and have been wanting to read it for a while.

Okay so that’s enough jibber jabber, these are the books I have hauled over the last month!

On the 25th April, I went into my home town and I bought 6 books! There’s actually 4 books out of the six here that I bought new.. but there are reasons! So these first two finds were in a charity shop.

Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, #1) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

bc

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything. – Goodreads

I’ve heard so much about this book on book tube and Goodreads, most comments are full of praise and it’s such a pretty book, for £1 I just had to!

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

13yas

 Perhaps the best written of all the slave narratives, 12 Years a Slave is a harrowing memoir about one of the darkest periods in American history. It recounts how Solomon Northup, born a free man in New York, was lured to Washington, D.C., in 1841 with the promise of fast money, then drugged and beaten and sold into slavery. He spent the next twelve years of his life in captivity on a series of Louisiana plantations.

After his rescue, Northup published this exceptionally vivid and detailed account of slave life. It became an immediate bestseller and today is recognised for its unusual insight and eloquence as one of the very few portraits of American slavery produced by someone with the dual perspective of having been both a free man and a slave. – Goodreads

Another cheap buy and another hugely popular book and movie adaptation, I feel like this book just needs to be read and I need to read it. I feel like it will be an important read.

The next three I bought from The Works, as I’ve said I don’t usually buy new books but these were on offer, 3 for £5! How could I not?

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1) by Suzanne Collins

THG

 

Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

In a dark vision of the near future, twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live TV show called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.

When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

May the odds be ever in your favour. – Goodreads

I’ve just recently finished reading this and I know I am super late to the hype now the 3 books have been published and all have been made into movie adaptations but I like to take things slow what can I say? I actually didn’t know what I was getting myself in to with this book I just knew it was loved and have had many people recommended it to me, so I gave it a go and to be honest with this first book I wasn’t that impressed. The characters where good, the plot was good and the writing was good but I actually thought it was slow paced and a lot more could have happened, nevertheless I am looking forward to reading the next two in the trilogy.

Mocking Jay (The Hunger Games, #3) by Suzanne Collins

mockingjay

 

Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But she’s still not safe. A revolution is unfolding, and everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans – everyone except Katniss.

And yet she must play the most vital part in the final battle. Katniss must become their Mockingjay – the symbol of rebellion – no matter what the personal cost. – Goodreads

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       I won’t actually read that synopsis as I’m not sure if it will spoil anything as I haven’t read the second book yet!!

I know what you’re thinking. Why did you buy the first and last book in The Hunger Games trilogy Sarah but not the second? Well because they didn’t have it in store!!!! How shocking. So I thought I’d grab this next read to complete my 3 for £5 offer.

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1) by Richelle Mead

VA.jpg

Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies . . .

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger . . . and the Strigoi are always close by. – Goodreads

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever . . . – Goodreads

Again I’m behind with all the hype but I am soooooo excited to read this one, I love a good vampire story and I’m a sucker (no pun intended) for books similar to Twilight.

Next up is a book I bought in Waterstones, brand spanking new! I just had to have it, I watched the TV series, well I binged it, okay, okay? I needed it!

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

2813153

You can’t stop the future. 

You can’t rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever. – Goodreads

You may have heard of this one, it has recently been made into a TV series and has been announced that there will be a second series. This is a rare situation where the TV show is probably better than the book. I’ve recently read this book, as soon as I bought it I knew it would be my next read, it was so fast paced and easy and I really enjoyed it but I just thought the TV series fitted a lot more in and gave you the feel of everything that was happening rather than just the one point of view which in the book is Clay’s listening to Hannah’s tapes and not much else.

9df70f072a3640a4bb43f3495ea215fd

At the end of April, I went and visited family in Durham and bought two books from charity shops.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

tnccc

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there when yesterday it was not.

Within these nocturnal black-and-white striped tents awaits an utterly unique, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air.

Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves.

Beyond the smoke and mirrors, however, a fierce competition is under way–a contest between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood to compete in a “game” to which they have been irrevocably bound by their mercurial masters. Unbeknownst to the players, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will.

As the circus travels around the world, the feats of magic gain fantastical new heights with every stop. The game is well under way and the lives of all those involved–the eccentric circus owner, the elusive contortionist, the mystical fortune-teller, and a pair of red-headed twins born backstage among them–are swept up in a wake of spells and charms.

But when Celia discovers that Marco is her adversary, they begin to think of the game not as a competition but as a wonderful collaboration. With no knowledge of how the game must end, they innocently tumble headfirst into love. A deep, passionate, and magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

Their masters still pull the strings, however, and this unforeseen occurrence forces them to intervene with dangerous consequences, leaving the lives of everyone from the performers to the patrons hanging in the balance.

Both playful and seductive, The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern’s spell-casting debut, is a mesmerizing love story for the ages. – Goodreads

 

tnc

 

The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, #1) by Jefferey Deaver

tsd

Special Agent Kathryn Dance reads people the way other investigators read crime scenes. But she’s never seen eyes like Daniel Pell’s.

In 1999, Daniel Pell murdered an entire family. Only one little girl survived, asleep in her bed and hidden by her dolls.

When Kathryn Dance interrogates Pell, he’s serving a life sentence for the murders. Moments later, he’s on the run, a trail of death and mayhem in his wake.

To catch him, Dance must draw on every clue from their brief meeting. And her fear that they share a common aim: to find the girl they call the Sleeping Doll… – Goodreads

I’ve read this book this month too and although I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads I wasn’t in love with it. It started off well then got really slow, it was heading towards 2 stars until the last 100 pages and there were about 4 different twists that made it that much better, I am going to give the others in the series a try I just hope they pick up their pace.

A week or so later I popped into a charity shop on my way home and bought..

Between the Lines (Between the Lines, #1) by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

btlDelilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.
A romantic and charming story, this companion novel to Off the Page will make every reader believe in the fantastical power of fairy tales. – Goodreads

On a random day off I popped into my hometown again, this must have been only about two weeks after the first time I was there and I managed to buy another 8 books, 6 of them from charity shops!! Seriously, take my word on it, charity shops are the bomb for book buying.

I bought three books by Patrick Ness, the first two I found in a charity shop.

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1) by Patrick Ness

tkonlgTodd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him — something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn’t she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd’s gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is. – Goodreads

The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking, #2) by Patrick Ness

taataWe were in the square, in the square where I’d run, holding her, carrying her, telling her to stay alive, stay alive till we got safe, till we got to Haven so I could save her – But there weren’t no safety, no safety at all, there was just him and his men…

Fleeing before a relentless army, Todd has carried a desperately wounded Viola right into the hands of their worst enemy, Mayor Prentiss. Immediately separated from Viola and imprisoned, Todd is forced to learn the ways of the Mayor’s new order. But what secrets are hiding just outside of town? And where is Viola? Is she even still alive? And who are the mysterious Answer? And then, one day, the bombs begin to explode…

“The Ask and the Answer” is a tense, shocking and deeply moving novel of resistance under the most extreme pressure. This is the second title in the “Chaos Walking” trilogy. – Goodreads

I grabbed these two books on an off chance that I’ll like them as I’ve heard such good things about Patrick Ness and I have just found out that there is a third book that people have absolutely raved about so I’m super excited to give these a go!

The third book by Patrick Ness I bought was from W.H.Smith and I bought this book because nearly everybody in the book world has read it now and I’ve just been dying to grab my hands on it. Oh and it was buy one get one half price so you know.. me and my bargains.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

tmc

 

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth. – Goodreads

 

I read this book straight away, it was such a quick and easy read and oh my god so beautiful. I was looking for a book that would make me cry as no book has ever managed to bring me to tears, that is until I read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Honestly, so many people were going on about how sad it was and I was just like, really? Na, not going to bring me down and throughout the book, I thought the same and then that last chapter came and them last few lines just hit me, that awful lump in my throat appeared and I was a wreck. This is a new favourite of mine.

Alongside this book, I got another read I’ve been interested in for a while now.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everythingeverythingMy disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. – Goodreads

I’ve completed this one too, there were just so many books I picked up this month that I was too excited to start! Another really fast read, with different illustrations and text throughout. I enjoyed the story but it didn’t reach my expectations.

The next four are all from charity shops.

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

djAn angry rebel, John dropped out of school and enlisted in the Army, not knowing what else to do with his life–until he meets the girl of his dreams, Savannah. Their mutual attraction quickly grows into the kind of love that leaves Savannah waiting for John to finish his tour of duty, and John wanting to settle down with the woman who has captured his heart.

But 9/11 changes everything. John feels it is his duty to re-enlist. And sadly, the long separation finds Savannah falling in love with someone else.

Dear John, the letter read… and with those two words, a heart was broken and two lives were changed forever. Returning home, John must come to grips with the fact that Savannah, now married, is still his true love—and face the hardest decision of his life. – Goodreads

I bought my first Nicholas Sparks book!! I’ve been wanting to read a Nicholas Sparks book for so long now and when I saw this I just knew I had to have it. I have watched the film but it was a while ago now but I remember really enjoying it.

Next up I bought a book that I’ve been recommended a few times, it’s supposed to be rather thrilling.

I am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes

iap

 

 

A breakneck race against time…and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all identifying characteristics dissolved by acid. A father publicly beheaded in the blistering heat of a Saudi Arabian public square. A notorious Syrian biotech expert found eyeless in a Damascus junkyard. Smoldering human remains on a remote mountainside in Afghanistan. A flawless plot to commit an appalling crime against humanity. One path links them all, and only one man can make the journey. Pilgrim.’ – Goodreads

 

Disclaimer by Renee Knight

disclaimer

A brilliantly conceived, deeply unsettling psychological thriller— already an international sensation—about a woman haunted by secrets, the consuming desire for revenge, and the terrible price we pay when we try to hide the truth.


Finding a mysterious novel at her bedside plunges documentary filmmaker Catherine Ravenscroft into a living nightmare. Though ostensibly fiction, The Perfect Stranger recreates in vivid, unmistakable detail the terrible day she became hostage to a dark secret, a secret that only one other person knew—and that person is dead.

Now that the past is catching up with her, Catherine’s world is falling apart. Her only hope is to confront what really happened on that awful day . . . even if the shocking truth might destroy her. – Goodreads

And I bought my first classic! I’ve wanted to read this book ever since watching the FRIENDS episode where Rachel gives it to Joey to read and Rachel reads The Shining by Stephen King, do you know which it is yet???

Little Women (Little Women, #1) by Louisa May Alcott

lw

 

 

Following the lives of four sisters on a journey out of adolescence, Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women explores the difficulties associated with gender roles in a Post-Civil War America. – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

I know I’ve said this about most of these books but this one is one I am really excited to read, I have never read a classic and I’ve always told myself that the first one I would read would be Little Women!

AAAA

The rest of these books are again from charity shops, most of these are random picks that I just liked the sound of the others are picked because I’m interested in the authors or I’ve heard a lot of good things about.

All from the same store, my next 6!

Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1) by Richelle Mead

bl.jpgSydney’s blood is special. That’s because she’s an alchemist – one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. But the last encounter Sydney had with vampires got her in deep trouble with the other alchemists. And now with her allegiences in question, her future is on the line.

When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places: a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.

The Moroi court believe Jill and Sydney will be safe at Amberwood Prep, but threats, distractions, and forbidden romance lurk both outside – and within – the school grounds. Now that they’re in hiding, the drama is only just beginning. – Goodreads

I bought this simply because of the hype, I haven’t read anything from Richelle Mead but I love a good vampire story and I’m looking forward to trying her out.

Fire After Dark (After Dark, #1) by Sadie Matthews 

fadA story that will captivate, exhilarate and intoxicate you like no other, perfect for those who loved E. L. James’ bestselling Fifty Shades of Grey but were left wanting more…

The first novel in a provocative romance series that will captivate, exhilarate and intoxicate you like no other, perfect for those who loved the bestselling Fifty Shades of Grey but were left wanting more…

It started with a spark…

Everything changed when I met Dominic. My heart had just been broken, split into jagged fragments that can jigsaw together to make me look enough like a normal, happy person.

Dominic has shown me a kind of abandonment I’ve never known before. He takes me down a path of pure pleasure, but of pain, too – his love offers me both lightness and dark. And where he leads me, I have no choice but to follow.

Deeply intense and romantic, provocative and sensual, FIRE AFTER DARK will take you to a place where love and sex are liberated from their limits.

Fans of E. L. James and Sylvia Day will find themselves kept awake late into the night with FIRE AFTER DARK… – Goodreads

The synopsis says perfect for those whole loved Fifty Shades of Grey, well yeah, there are a lot of scenes in this book that I could have sworn I read in Fifty Shades. It was too similar and kind of cringe actually. I’m still going to try the next book to see how it plays out but I really don’t know how I feel, I did love the side characters in this book though.

Secrets After Dark (After Dark, #2) by Sadie Matthews

sadBeth and Dominic embarked on the most intensely sexual and emotional relationship of their life in FIRE AFTER DARK – the first novel in Sadie Matthews’ erotic romance series. Now SECRETS AFTER DARK will take you one step closer to the bittersweet edge of passion: the perfect read for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James, Sylvia Day and Nikki Gemmell.

Ours was a love bound by power…

Falling in love with Dominic changed me. I relinquished myself completely and placed my heart and my trust in Dominic’s hands, but in one exquisite, excruciating moment he abandoned his control. Anguished by his actions, he has locked those darkest desires inside, unable to share my conviction that it would never happen again.

Now it’s not only Dominic who craves that delicate, seductive game of give and take, of walking the line between pain and pleasure, abandon and release. Persuading Dominic to let those secret parts of himself unravel will be the biggest risk I’ve ever taken, but I can’t resist. Even if it means we fall apart…

Provocative and sophisticated, exhilarating and seductive, the AFTER DARK series is a compelling pleasure we should all indulge in . . . – Goodreads

The Hive by Gill Hornby

The Hive

Welcome to St Ambrose Primary School. A world of friendships, fights and feuding. And that’s just the mothers.

It’s the start of another school year at St Ambrose. But while the children are in the classroom colouring in, their mothers are learning sharper lessons on the other side of the school gates. Lessons in friendship. Lessons in betrayal. Lessons in the laws of community, the transience of power… and how to get invited to lunch. – Goodreads

 

 

 

I bought this read simply because it’s SO PRETTY, yes I judged a book by its cover and don’t pretend you don’t do it! I honestly know nothing about this book and I’m excited to try it although it does have a pretty bad rating on Goodreads.

Next up, two books from an author I’m really interested in. I’ve read one book of hers and really enjoyed it.

The Story Teller by Jodi Picoult

tstWhat do you do when evil lives next door? Can someone who’s committed a truly heinous act ever atone for it with subsequent good behavior? Should you offer forgiveness to someone if you aren’t the party who was wronged? And most of all – if Sage even considers his request – is it murder, or justice?

Sage Singer befriends an old man who’s particularly beloved in her community. Josef Weber is everyone’s favorite retired teacher and Little League coach. They strike up a friendship at the bakery where Sage works. One day he asks Sage for a favor: to kill him. Shocked, Sage refuses…and then he confesses his darkest secret – he deserves to die, because he was a Nazi SS guard. Complicating the matter? Sage’s grandmother is a Holocaust survivor. – Goodreads 

This is the one book I get recommended every time I ask for a good Jodi read so I am really looking forward to this one!

Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult 

ltt.jpg

 

Jenna Metcalf was with her mother the night she disappeared, but she remembers nothing.

In the wake of those tragic events, she has lost not one parent, but two: her father is in an asylum, and now she lives with her grandmother – who finds it too painful to talk about what happened.

Ten years on, Jenna is the only one who still seems to care. And she is determined to seek the truth, no matter how shocking and life-changing it might be . . . – Goodreads

 

 

abaa

These next 6 I bought on a whim. I saw two books next to each other that looked so pretty and I really wanted to give them ago then as I looked down the bookshelves I saw another 4, they’re all by the same author and they look so cute!!

The Perfect Neighbors by Sarah Pekkanen 

tpnPerfect Neighbors takes us into the homes of an idyllic suburban neighborhood where we discover the burning secrets hiding just below the surface.

Bucolic Newport Cove, where spontaneous block parties occur on balmy nights and all of the streets are named for flowers, is proud of its distinction of being named one the top twenty safest neighborhoods in the US.

It’s also one of the most secret-filled.

Kellie Scott has just returned to work after a decade of being a stay-at-home mom. She’s adjusting to high heels, scrambling to cook dinner for her family after a day at the office—and soaking in the dangerous attention of a very handsome, very married male colleague. Kellie’s neighbor Susan Barrett begins every day with fresh resolutions: she won’t eat any carbs. She’ll go to bed at a reasonable hour. And she’ll stop stalking her ex-husband and his new girlfriend. Gigi Kennedy seems to have it all together—except her teenage daughter has turned into a hostile stranger and her husband is running for Congress, which means her old skeletons are in danger of being brought into the light.

Then a new family moves to this quiet, tree-lined cul-de-sac. Tessa Campbell seems friendly enough to the other mothers, if a bit reserved. Then the neighbors notice that no one is ever invited to Tessa’s house. And soon, it becomes clear Tessa is hiding the biggest secret of all.Goodreads

Skipping a Beat by Sarah Pekkanen

sab.jpgJulia and Michael meet in high school in their small, poverty-stricken West Virginia hometown. Both products of difficult childhoods — Julia’s father is a compulsive gambler and Michael’s mother abandoned his family when he was a young boy – they find a sense of safety and mutual understanding in each other. Shortly after graduation they flee West Virginia to start afresh. Now thirty-somethings, they are living a rarified life in their multi-million-dollar,Washington D.C. home. From the outside it all looks perfect – Julia has become a highly sought-after party planner, while Michael has launched a wildly successful flavored water company that he sold for $70 million.
But one day Michael stands up at the head of the table in his company’s boardroom — then silently crashes to the floor. More than four minutes later, a portable defibrillator manages to jump-start his heart. Yet what happened to Michael during those lost minutes forever changes him. Money is meaningless to him now – and he wants to give it all away to charity. A prenuptial agreement that Julia insisted upon back when Michael’s company was still struggling means she has no claim to his fortune, and now she must decide: should she walk away from the man she once adored, but who truthfully became a stranger to her long before his near-death experience – or should she give in to her husband’s pleas for a second chance and a promise of a poorer but happier life? – Goodreads

The Best of Us by Sarah Pekkanen

tbouParadise isn’t quite what it seems as four college friends meet for an island vacation in this captivating new novel from the acclaimed author of These Girls.

Following a once-in-a-lifetime invitation, a group of old college friends leap at the chance to bring their husbands for a week’s vacation at a private villa in Jamaica to celebrate a former classmates’ thirty-fifth birthday.
All four women are desperate for a break and this seems like a perfect opportunity. Tina is drowning under the demands of mothering four young children. Allie needs to escape from the shattering news about an illness that runs in her family. Savannah is carrying the secret of her husband’s infidelity. And, finally, there’s Pauline, who spares no expense to throw her husband an unforgettable birthday celebration, hoping it will gloss over the cracks that have already formed in their new marriage.

The week begins idyllically, filled with languorous days and late nights of drinking and laughter. But as a hurricane approaches the island, turmoil builds, forcing each woman to re-evaluate everything she’s known about the others—and herself. – Goodreads

The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen

toomTwenty-nine-year-old Lindsey Rose has, for as long as she can remember, lived in the shadow of her ravishingly beautiful fraternal twin sister, Alex. Determined to get noticed, Lindsey is finally on the cusp of being named VP creative director of an elite New York advertising agency, after years of eighty-plus-hour weeks, migraines, and profound loneliness. But during the course of one devastating night, Lindsey’s carefully constructed life implodes. Humiliated, she flees the glitter of Manhattan and retreats to the time warp of her parents’ Maryland home. As her sister plans her lavish wedding to her Prince Charming, Lindsey struggles to maintain her identity as the smart, responsible twin while she furtively tries to piece her career back together. But things get more complicated when a long-held family secret is unleashed that forces both sisters to reconsider who they are and who they are meant to be. – Goodreads

Things You Won’t Say by Sarah Pekkanen

tywsIn this timely and provocative novel, internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen takes us inside a family in crisis and a marriage on the brink after a tragic shooting.

How far would you go to save your family?

Every morning, as her husband Mike straps on his SIG Sauer and pulls on his heavy Magnum boots, Jamie Anderson tenses up. Then comes the call she has always dreaded: There’s been a shooting at police headquarters. Mike isn’t hurt, but his long-time partner is grievously injured. As weeks pass and her husband’s insomnia and disconnectedness mount, Jamie realizes he is an invisible casualty of the attack. Then the phone rings again. Another shooting but this time Mike has pulled the trigger.

But the shooting does more than just alter Jamie’s world. It’s about to change everything for two other women. Christie Simmons, Mike’s flamboyant ex, sees the tragedy as an opportunity for a second chance with Mike. And Jamie’s younger sister, Lou, must face her own losses to help the big sister who raised her. As the press descends and public cries of police brutality swell, Jamie tries desperately to hold together her family, no matter what it takes.

In her characteristic exploration of true-to-life relationships, Sarah Pekkanen has written a complex, compelling, and openhearted novel her best yet. – Goodreads

Catching Air by Sarah Pekkanen

caFrom the internationally bestselling author of four books, including The Opposite of Me, a vibrant, compulsively readable novel about two married couples who pursue a dream to open a bed-and-breakfast in small-town Vermont.

In her previous works including The Best of Us, “rising star” (Library Journal) Sarah Pekkanen captivated readers by penning “refreshingly introspective, sharply realistic, and tenderly humorous” novels (Booklist) that had readers “flying through the pages” (Hoda Kotb, Today show). Now, in Catching Air, Pekkanen turns an unflinching eye on the tangled relationships of two pairs of thirty-somethings.

A chance to run a B&B in snowy, remote Vermont—it’s an offer Kira Danner can’t resist after six soul-crushing years of working as a lawyer in Florida. As Kira and her husband, Peter, step into a brand new life, she quells her fears about living with the B&B’s co-owners: Peter’s sexy, irresponsible brother Rand, and Rand’s wife, Alyssa…who is essentially a stranger.

For her part, Alyssa sees taking over the B&B as the latest in a string of adventures. Plus, a quiet place might help her recover from the news that she can’t bear children. But the idyllic town proves to be anything but serene: Within weeks, the sisters-in-law are scrambling to prepare for their first big booking—a winter wedding—and soon a shy, mysterious woman comes to work for them. Dawn Zukoski is hiding something; that much is clear. But what the sisters-in-law don’t realize is that Dawn is also hiding from someone…

Relatable and dynamic, Catching Air delves deeply into the vital relationships that give shape to women’s lives. – Goodreads

I bought this next one as I’m interested in the author, I have another book written by her The Husband’s Secret you may also know her from writing the book Big Little Lies which has recently been made into a TV series starring, Reese Witherspoon and Shaliene Woodley.

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriatry 

tmg.jpg

Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?

Sam and Clementine have a wonderful, albeit, busy life: they have two little girls, Sam has just started a new dream job, and Clementine, a cellist, is busy preparing for the audition of a lifetime. If there’s anything they can count on, it’s each other.

Clementine and Erika are each other’s oldest friends. A single look between them can convey an entire conversation. But theirs is a complicated relationship, so when Erika mentions a last minute invitation to a barbecue with her neighbors, Tiffany and Vid, Clementine and Sam don’t hesitate. Having Tiffany and Vid’s larger than life personalities there will be a welcome respite.

Two months later, it won’t stop raining, and Clementine and Sam can’t stop asking themselves the question: What if we hadn’t gone?

In Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty takes on the foundations of our lives: marriage, sex, parenthood, and friendship. She shows how guilt can expose the fault lines in the most seemingly strong relationships, how what we don’t say can be more powerful than what we do, and how sometimes it is the most innocent of moments that can do the greatest harm. – Goodreads

tmg

AND FINALLY, the last three books I bought simply because they looked interesting and they type of books I’m into.

The Missing by C.L.Taylor

tmYou love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinson’s are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things – that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it? – Goodreads

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

tkwkFrom the author of the acclaimed The Girl with a Clock for a Heart—hailed by the Washington Post as crime fiction’s best first novel of 2014”—a devious tale of psychological suspense involving sex, deception, and an accidental encounter that leads to murder that is a modern reimagining of Patricia Highsmith’s classic Strangers on a Train.

On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that’s going stale and his wife, Miranda, who he’s sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start—he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit—a contrast that once inflamed their passion, but has now become a cliché.

But their game turns a little darker when Ted jokes that he could kill Miranda for what she’s done. Lily, without missing a beat, says calmly, “I’d like to help.” After all, some people are the kind worth killing, like a lying, stinking, cheating spouse. . . .

Back in Boston, Ted and Lily’s twisted bond grows stronger as they begin to plot Miranda’s demise. But there are a few things about Lily’s past that she hasn’t shared with Ted, namely her experience in the art and craft of murder, a journey that began in her very precocious youth.

Suddenly these co-conspirators are embroiled in a chilling game of cat-and-mouse, one they both cannot survive . . . with a shrewd and very determined detective on their tail. – Goodreads

Find Her (book 8) by Lisa Gardner

fh.jpgFlora Dane is a victim.

Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure.

Flora Dane is a survivor.

Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who’s never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she’s become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who’ve never made it home.

Flora Dane is reckless.

. . . or is she? When Boston detective D. D. Warren is called to the scene of a crime—a dead man and the bound, naked woman who killed him—she learns that Flora has tangled with three other suspects since her return to society. Is Flora a victim or a vigilante? And with her firsthand knowledge of criminal behavior, could she hold the key to rescuing a missing college student whose abduction has rocked Boston? When Flora herself disappears, D.D. realizes a far more sinister predator is out there. One who’s determined that this time, Flora Dane will never escape. And now it is all up to D. D. Warren to find her. – Goodreads

book

The one bad thing about buying books from a charity shop is that sometimes you might just end up picking a book that is the eighth in a series like I did. I did look inside the book to see if there was anywhere that stated it was part of a series which I always do when finding new books but nope, there was nothing soo oops. I’ll just have to buy the rest first I suppose. Hehe.

Thank you, if you stuck with me through this, thank you even if you skim read it! You’re a star for just being here.

I’ve enjoyed writing this posts up, thank you for reading.

Sarah xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Book Haul

  1. Vampire Academy is one of my favorite series of all time, those books are so amazing, in fact I would love to re-read the whole series at some point, I hope you enjoy the first book and decide to continue! 😊😊

    Like

  2. Wow! This is an amazing and cheap book haul. I’m in love!! There are several on the list I would like to read myself, like the Hunger Games, Twelve Years a Slave, and A Monster Calls.

    I already love reading classic literature, and Louisa May Alcott is one of my favorite authors (I think you’ll enjoy Little Women!!). I don’t know how soon you’re thinking about reading that one, but I would like to invite you to my annual Louisa May Alcott reading challenge, on my blog. It has just begun, and lasts through the end of June. Do stop by if you’re interested!

    Tarissa
    http://inthebookcase.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I would have loved to get involved but I’m stuck in the middle of reading two books at the minute and really don’t have the time, sorry! Thank you for the invitation though and I hope you enjoy your reads 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

